appreciation gaming

An Ode to Divinity: Original Sin II

I have always believed that video games are the perfect amalgamation of creativity with technology. I cannot think of another medium that so effectively combines the talents of so many human minds into something wondrous. The best games, in my mind, leave you with a story that keeps you up for ages.

Divinity: Original Sin II stands tall amongst the games I’ve had the honour of playing. 135.9 hours it took me to complete my first playthough, and I can say this without a doubt in my mind: this game is extraordinary.

I bought this purely on a whim. I saw it had a massive discount during a sale, briefly glanced through the reviews (Overwhelmingly Positive on Steam certainly tempts one to lighten his wallet a little) and just bought it.

Months later after my purchase, I can safely say that this is one impulse purchase I do not regret.

Larian Studios have a masterpiece on their hands, which, despite its obvious strengths, is criminally underplayed. So many top 10 lists, articles, YouTube videos and what have yous fail to even mention DOS:II as even a contender, which, in my humble opinion, is doing the world of Rivellon an injustice.

You see, what DOS:II manages to do exceedingly well is the amount of freedom the game gives you. I’m not just talking about an open-world that’s immersive and lived in, with secrets behind every locked door, or even in the chittering of a wild squirrel. This is a game that truly lets you decide what to do for yourself, for the companions you encounter along your journey, to the innocents you interact with while traipsing about on your merry adventure. Every corner of the map has a story begging to be heard.

It firmly puts you in the driving seat, not letting the solely the plot decide the actions of your character. Everything, from the voice of your character to the instrument that plays in the background during pivotal moments in the story is firmly yours to command. I mean of course the plot is there, but how you let it play out is entirely up to you. It feels empowering. The sheer multitude of choices the team managed to put in to even mundane situations in this game leads to a playthrough that will be unique for each player.

How you decide to complete quests is up in the air. Stealth, head-on combat, or even… talking. There have been multiple occassions in which I’ve thanked the gods I didn’t need to unsheathe my sword in a testy situation, simply because I could talk my way out of it.

Speaking of dialogue…

This game doesn’t exactly play out as some of the modern day RPGs recently. It doesn’t have cut scenes filled with dynamic shots and massive set pieces, highlighting moments of import. This game plays out much like a tabletop game, with a narrator describing (quite vividly) the actions of the characters on screen, their feelings, their thoughts. It’s quite like seeing a book come to life, with your imagination filling in the gaps. The narrator is low-key one of the selling points of the game.

Just a casual street vendor in the famed city of Arx

The lack of cutscenes puts a lot of pressure on the voice actors as well as the writers, and they deliver in spades. No two characters seem alike. The dialogue is witty and sometimes incredibly poigant, occassionally leading to me pausing my playthrough and ruminating on what I’d just heard. Every character seems convincing, leading me to imagine a journey in which I’d probably be siding with my enemy on this journey.

This is a game that isn’t the story of a “single” chosen one, like quite a few stories of yore. The companions you choose to accompany you, the primary antagonists you face, hell, even some of the wiser, more knowledgeable figures you find down your road, they’re not written as simple stepping stones as your character does what it does. They’re all main characters, as it were, each with their own motives and ambitions that intersperse with your journey in delightful ways. It’s entirely believable that every one you encounter are protagonists in their own right. Unfortunately, we’re only limited to the perspective of the character you choose at the starting of the game. You can choose up to 6 well-written, fleshed out characters as a starting point, or design your own. I’d recommend choosing a pre-written character as Larian have done a marvellous job on them. Besides, if you truly want to fiddle around with appearances, you’ll be able to do that later.

The characters are memorable, with some of them having incredibly cathartic moments as you experience their journeys alongside them. This game has multiple moments reminiscent of the famed Mass Effect trilogy by Bioware, with you needing to earn the loyalty of your companions. Disappoint them, and they’ll leave, possibly even being antagonized. I’d played the Mass Effect series for the first time back in 2012, and DOS:II perfectly fills the void of an RPG with a memorable ensemble cast that feels independent of your character. I hadn’t even realized how badly I wanted to play something like this till I actually started playing it.

A closer look at my character, and my first companion, the snobbish Red Prince

The combat in this game is engaging, even unforgiving, at times. I didn’t think I’d be a fan of the turn-based model but boy oh boy does this deliver in spades. So much strategic depth and complexity, with none of the handholding. It’s up to you to figure out stuff that works for you and your ragtag band of adventurers, as you try and fill in any gaps in the strengths and weaknesses of your group. The combat is incredibly intricate, with so much of it left to your imagination. Thank god for the internet because I don’t think I’m smart enough to figure out all the broken stuff in the game. It lets you do stuff like stab an enemy and then electrocute the blood that seeps out of their wounds, for gods sakes, after which you leech the same blood to heal yourself. It’s absurd. There are so many paths to combat, so many skills to master, so many schools to study… the possibilities are nigh limitless. You can even “cheese” enemies. On paper you’d think it’s taking the cheaper path but in reality, it really isn’t. Especially when the game is practically designed to whoop your ass at every step of the way, with enemies scaling with you and nearly always outnumbering you.

The main plot of the game is exceptional in the sense that it makes you question your humanity even in the face of ultimate power. Will you sacrifice it all to attain it all, or will you remain grounded without losing sight of the people whose help brought you so far? How far will you go before you realize you owe something to those beside you? How will you let your choices impact the fates of people, families, cities, to even those of entire races? All this is tied so well together with a plot that, while serious, doesn’t take itself too seriously. I’ve had quests in which I’ve fetched balls for dogs, after which I’ve helped prisoners escape the clutches of the gallows. I’ve randomly come across absurdities like burning pigs while pursuing someone who’d wronged me in my past. You can feel the passion Larian has poured into this game, making other titles feel almost… pretentious by comparison. Looking at you, Cyberpunk 2077.

Combat can be grounded while also being... awe-inspiring

This is a celebration of what it means to tell stories via gaming, and it is a celebration I truly hope more people partake in. As for me, I can’t wait for the announcement of Divinity: Original Sin III.


Do you have any suggestions on what I should be looking out for, if I need to experience something similar? I’ve got my eyes on Pillars of Eternity, but do let me know!

You know what, Gareth? Same.


Full spoilers ahead

My party comprised of Lohse as my main, Sebille as a Rogue, Ifan Ben-mezd as a Wayfarer and The Red Prince as a Fighter.

Sebille breaking free of her shackles, first from the Master, followed by freeing her entire race from the Mother Tree is a moment that will be etched in my mind for a long time. For a character so deeply hurt and scarred by those who took advantage of her in her most vulnerable time, for her to practically give me the key to her life… moments like these remind you of the strength trust can grant you.

Lohse prising her lute from Adramahlihk‘s corpse is another moment that is nigh unforgettable. I’m pretty sure I was tearing up when she finally, finally took control of herself after so long, allowing her to be truly free to choose once again. The visuals combined with the music when she lets her voice loose is creating goosebumps on my skin as I type this. The song will be ringing in my head for a few days, at the very least.

Listen, do you feel it?

What an absolute joyride of a game. Gaming has forever changed for me, and I, for one, can’t wait to play this game again someday, this time as Fane.

Avatar photo I'm a data analyst by trade, who's always been a fan of the written word. Fandoms have kept me company when no one else has. Someday I'll have a book of my own. I'm on Twitter! If you like reading my words, or felt that you relate to them even a tiny bit, consider buying me a coffee! Twitter Tweet
comments powered by Disqus