experience appreciation

Kolkata

Originally written on 10.08.2019

Kolkata. Man, I’m unsure how to start this.

At first glance, the city appears to be torn into two: one half of it trying to sluggishly cling to a colourful past, while the other is trying to come to terms with an ever changing present. It took me close to 6 months to realise that the city thrives with one foot each in both these disparate worlds. This gives it an identity unlike anywhere else in India.

It’s a study in dichotomy. It’s a sprawl, with some great modern day architecture to look at, surrounded by buildings that probably haven’t changed since the British last stayed here. You’ll find some of the absolute rudest people here, while also encountering some of the nicest, friendliest folks here who’ll be willing to go an extra mile for you, just because they can. You’ll find stuff like chocolate tea here, but it’s nigh impossible to find someone making decent filter coffee. The oldest metro lines in the country, yellow taxis and manual rickshaws, all in the midst of the burgeoning, modern heart of the city.

Park Street, Kolkata

It’s been a hell of an experience. It’s a city that grips you right from the get go, from the very first breath you take in the city. It’s a task to adjust to it, but now, I find myself missing it.

A quaint little bylane off Salt Lake, Kolkata

Onwards and upwards, now. Farewell, Kolkata.

Avatar photo I'm a data analyst by trade, who's always been a fan of the written word. Fandoms have kept me company when no one else has. Someday I'll have a book of my own. I'm on Twitter! If you like reading my words, or felt that you relate to them even a tiny bit, consider buying me a coffee! Twitter Tweet
comments powered by Disqus